Mexican sage (Salvia mexicana)

Fort Worth, TX

Mexican Bush Sage
Salvia leucantha
http://plantsdatabase.com/go/1837/index.html

Thumbnail by ErinAnne
Ventura, United States(Zone 10b)

Erin,
I love this sage and have it too. Do you have any problem with it flopping over from its own weight? I can't keep mine erect, and if I stake it upright, it doesn't look natural. Do you cut yours back every year? Thanks!

Fort Worth, TX

Hi, yes it does kind of grow in all directions, but I love a big messy garden! This is my first year with this plant, so I haven't had to cut it back, but another database user advised me to cut it back in the spring and again in midsummer to promote fullness. I'm going to try this. I LOVE THIS PLANT!!!

Thanks, Erin. It is beautiful. Here's mine:

Thumbnail by Clare_CA
El Sobrante, CA(Zone 9b)

Clare, yours is the variety "midnight" - with the purple tips instead of white. I have both.

I know this plant, though, as salvia leucantha rather than salvia mexicana.

One of my all-time favorites!

:o) Judith

El Sobrante, CA(Zone 9b)

In fact ... here's a close up of the white-tipped variety ...

Thumbnail by noxiousweed
El Sobrante, CA(Zone 9b)

... and this is the close up of the purple-tipped (midnight) variety ...

Thumbnail by noxiousweed

Thanks, Judith, for sharing your lovely pictures and for identifying mine. I love the white tips! So, have I misidentified mine as Salvia Mexicana when it should be Salvia Leucantha or is that a synonym? I'll have to do some research! Thanks:-)

Thumbnail by Clare_CA
Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

Both Salvia leucanthemum and S. mexicana are commonly known as "Mexican Sage" (or "Mexican Bush Sage"), but they're not synonyms as far as I know. We may need to do some sorting out of both entries in the PDB:
S. leucantha: http://plantsdatabase.com/go/1837/Mexican+Bush+Sage_Salvia_leucantha.html
S. mexicana: http://plantsdatabase.com/go/2350/Mexican+sage_Salvia_mexicana.html