hardy geranium photo album updated

Antrim, Northern Ire, United Kingdom(Zone 8b)

hi all

following a few requests my photo album showing the flowers of hardy geraniums has been updated to show maximum height, lowest temperature and the parents of cultivars.

here is the link
http://albums.photopoint.com/j/AlbumIndex?u=1389828&a=10396280&f=0

Mark

Mount Prospect, IL(Zone 5a)

Mark, Your geraniums are beautiful! This is my first year at growing them and I didn't realize how many varieties there are. If mine turn out half as pretty as yours, I'll be thrilled!!

hi djm

in their first year hardy geraniums dont look so hot the each sucessive year they get bigger and better.

This year I have started something new so they dont get blown around by the wind and end up flat on the ground. in the spring just as growth starts I put a up turned hanging basket over the geranium. the stems grow through the holes and get supported. in a few weeks the basket cant be seen.

Mark

Great idea! I have one that looks like it was dropped from a height and splatted on the ground. I didn't know how to raise all it's arms up so was just going to leave it and hope it would start to reach up by itself. Now that you're here, I just posted on Alans post asking either you or Mary if the geranium tuberosa was a true geranium? I had gotten a bulb catalog and this geranium was pictured. The price was $5.25 for 25 Bulbs! Flowers were purplish with pink veining if I remember correctly. Have you heard of this type.

yes G tuberosum is a true geranium. here's a photo of mine
http://albums.photopoint.com/j/ViewPhoto?u=1389828&a=10396280&p=48661956&Scale=530x400

in a few years you will have a carpet of them.

Mark

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)