Hi from my Atlanta Highrise: A Modern Day Cliffdweller

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

I'm just getting started after a 25 year break from gardening in Maine.

I am unable to keep up with my old hobbies of computers, computer games, genealogy, history and anthropology because of a medical condition that is called Dysthymia (neurotic depression). Neurotic in the medical sense refers to excessive anxiety.

Gardening should be good therapy for me and I'm hoping that it will help me to heal my Anhedonia which is the inability to derive pleasure from things formerly found pleasureable and in my case is one of the problems associated with my Dysthymia.

They have only been able to diagnose Dysthymia for about the past eight years and my form of it is hereditary. I have made progress with my medical condition from the meds that they are giving me but because of my being diagnosed forty years or so after initial onset, I'm not expected to make a full recovery. What I have is a medical condtion, a bio-chemical imbalance in my brain and I am being treated with meds and not therapy.

I've just moved into a nice new appartment on the 9th floor of a highrise in Atlanta, Georgia and my circumstances and condtion have improved enough for me to go ahead a get a life working around my disability.

They will start renovating my balcony/patio in about three months and so I won't be doing much gardening out there until spring.

I spend almost 24/7 at home and much of the time I'm unable to do much intellectual activity even though my intelligence is intact. I expect that my plants will be a major part of my life from now on.

I don't feel sorry for myself. There are many folks much worse off than I am. I have many friends that have really been there for me. It's good for me to talk about it because that is part of my accepting it and moving on with my life.