Balcony gardening

I hadn't gardened since I was a kid, but this year the bug was somehow revived. My "garden" is a 2nd-floor 5'x8' balcony, southern exposure, full sun when the sun shines. I have self-watering window-type boxes strapped to the outsides of the railings, normal window-type boxes resting inside at the edges of the floor, plus a few migrant containers, and against the wall I have tomatoes growing in bags of soil.

At the outset I thought I'd have herbs and a few flowers. Who knew there were so many varieties of so many different herbs? I have six types of thyme now. I'm content with that for this year because I'm just getting started. Two types of rosemary are flourishing, which is a first. Sage, chives, parsley, borage, basil (four kinds), lemon balm. I'd have imagined that would be enough, but oh, no. What's a little herb garden without dill, tarragon and coriander/cilantro? They were recently joined by hyssop, burnet and savory. I've found that small bouquets of herbs make great hostess gifts when I'm invited someplace for tea.

I have a big pot of echinacea that's forming its first flowers. Another between-herbs-and-flowers item is nasturtium. The seed packet said it was a climbing mix, but so far they look like regular old nasties to me.

I could go on and on, but then I'd have to re-title the thread 'balcony ramble'. This is a great experience and I'm glad to be learning so much. I'd never imagined that containers would dry out so quickly, that one floor up would have so much more wind than the ground level does, or that I'd leap for joy at the sight of a bird or a butterfly and plot how to attract more to my balcony.

Allentown, PA(Zone 6a)

Hi Naomi,