harvesting luffas

Greenville, SC(Zone 7b)

I just found this site today! This is great!
This is my first year growning luffas. I have about 7 that are almost 3 ft long. When can I pick them -or- do I have to leave them on the vine until frost. Here in SC that could be in Nov. I like to clean up my beds before it gets cold,so bugs dont overwinter in the soil.
Thank you for any help!
Willowsrain

Jones Creek, TX(Zone 9a)

Willowrain, I have grown Lufftas and I always leave them on until the stem is dry or begining to dry...I then harvest them and hang them in a cool dry place....under my deck was always the best and let them finish curing.......so they should be getting pretty close to being ready....if you have some extra seeds that you won't need LMK and we can trade or do a SASE..... :o)

Greenville, SC(Zone 7b)

Thank you WillowWasp this helps. I will be more then happy to give you some seeds. I should have plenty. WE can trade, I'm up for just about any seed. lol

Jones Creek, TX(Zone 9a)

Sounds great.....send me you addy and I will get some seeds together for you........I have been collecting what I can this year......This is my first year to garden after spending 2 years in an apartment.........but do have a few things you will like........... :o)

Crossville, TN

Welcome to Dave's Garden, Willowsrain. We have another member in Greenville I believe....Angelsong....daughter of Sledder. Go to the Welcome Mat Forum and tell us something about yourself.

I grew some Louffa's last year and the Javalina discovered them ....AFTER the grasshoppers ate all the leaves off and they could see them (Javalina's have poor eyesight, but a terrible odor!). They bit into them and I had to harvest them early....thus they never achieved the length yours did!!

Great to have you here. Jo

Dayton, OH(Zone 5a)

Welcome, Willowsrain :) I grew luffas last year and had ALL sorts of questions...