Wave Petunia's

Orland Park, IL(Zone 5a)

I live in the Chicago area and had a wave that was really flourishing. All of sudden it looks dry,spindly and sparse. I feed it every 2 weeks with miracle grow. Am I doing something wrong or is this the nature of the flower. Any help would be appreciated. I am new to this. This flower is not in the ground but in a pot. Thank You.

Knoxville, TN(Zone 7a)

BeeSuite, Check the petunia for signs of aphids. I lost two hanging baskets before I realized that they were invested with aphids. Usually petunias are not bothered by aphids but with the cooler, wetter weather - - aphids are super bad this year.

If the plant had aphids, and they've left - - there will be signs of the white castings. Cut the plant back - - stray with an insecticide, and treat with TLC. I would suggest that you stop fertilizing and put the plant in full sun. I was able to save one petunia, as I caught the aphids before it was too late. But it took 2 weeks before it started to perk back up.

Vancouver, WA(Zone 8a)

i have lots of petunias,Waves included in my pots. This year I have holes in the petals. This is a first. No aphids but what? Beesuite, Petunias are one of my favorite annuals because they are so beautiful with all summer blooms, assuming you deadhead regularly. In August I usually have to cut them back a bit as they tend to get leggy.

San Leandro, CA(Zone 9b)

I know those little green cats love petunias and are hard to see. Try Bt on them. It takes care of them immediately and it is environmentally safe.

Crossville, TN(Zone 7a)

Speaking of `tunias....mine are blooming but they are not growing, they look all.......shrivled...the blooms are tiny too. I used miracle grow on them as well as mushroom composte.I have never had a problem growing them before.The same thing is going on with my squash too!.......anyone know what gives?....it hasnt been very sunny lately, alot of rain and pretty overcast......you think that's the problem?