impatiens in the greenhouse

Stockport, OH(Zone 6b)

Hi! This is my first year trying to start impatiens from seed in a greenhouse, anyone got experience with right temp,amount of moisture, ect. afraid I might water too much
Anyone had any luck with planting in dry soiless medium and letting them soak up water from below, how it works? Thanks!

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

I'm guessing you mean bedding-type Impatiens - walleriana and hybrids?

Impatiens balsamina, the "old fashioned" type, grows so fast, it can be direct seeded.

I've started Impatiens from seed several times - they need some warmth to germinate, so if you have a heat mat, great. If not, you may want to place the flat on top of a refrigerator, freezer, etc.

Nicky's has a pretty good description of growing them here: http://www.nickys-nursery.co.uk/seeds/pages/growing5.htm

They do take a while to germinate and grow, so it's time to get started on them to make sure they're transplant-size by spring :)

Stockport, OH(Zone 6b)

Thanks so the info! I've started them the last couple years in a cold frame but they are usually not ready to plant when I am. According to the books they need about 12 weeks, for our location that would mean planting Valentine's Day or so, so you think I should try to start them in the house and transfer to the greenhouse?

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

If you're 6b, you're pretty close to the same last frost date as we are (ours is early to mid April.)

Your spring may be more temperate than ours. But I'm starting mine now. When I've waited until February to start them, they aren't ready to plant out in that brief "window of opportunity" that we have here (it can be a very short time when the weather is neither too cold nor too hot :)

Stockport, OH(Zone 6b)