Any bonsai experts????

Perrysburg, OH(Zone 5a)

I bought my friend a bonsai for Christmas, a common myrtle, it is now dropping leaves like crazy, neither one of us find much info about this variety. Is it decidous??? Should it be dropping it's leaves?? she lives in an apartment, the temp is controlled by the management it's more on the warm side. She has lots of windows and great light, but the windows are quite old and drafty, she's afraid to put the tree closer to the window because of the cold air. She's great with all plants and can start anything, so we're puzzled about the bonsai. Any ideas???
Thanks,
Becky

Tonasket, WA(Zone 5a)

BJT72, I have been trying to grow Bonsai for about 50 years but I am no expert. I have about 25 or so at the moment, mostly since it is winter they are in an unheated but insulated room off the garage. Here is what one of my books says about Myrtus, Myrtle can be kept indoors in a very bright airy location, with temp, between 40 and 50 degrees, but under no circumstances close to a heat source. Right there I think is the problem, probably too warm. I have never tried Myrtle bonsai. Also the bood says should have lower nighttime temp., and plenty of fresh air. Good Luck, Donna (RuthOlive}

Perrysburg, OH(Zone 5a)

Thanks Donna,
I will give her your info this morning.

25 bonsai, not an expert!!!! **g**

Shangshui, Henan, China(Zone 7b)

Myrtle,an evergreen half-shrub,
I have been cultivating as bonsai for years.
1.Dwarfing:
When the seedling reaches 10cm in height,
finger off the head to stimulate the stem
to produce more sub-stems.
And when the sub-stems reach 5cm in height,
finger off the heads.
Thus after the repeated fingering,a bonsai of myrtle
appears with luxuriant foliage and multiple-flowers.
2.Remoulding Main Stem:
The shortcoming of the dwarfing method is
that the bottom and head of the main stem look the same thickness.To form a pyramid ,I use 'Cutting main stem and preserving sub-stem method'.