Hello to all of you

cape may court house, NJ(Zone 6a)

well, I think I'm really the novice here. Love day lillies and being an avid birder I would welcome any advice on how to get a nice garden going for hummers, butterflys and so on... I'm a friend of Ruby42. Any advice is more than welcome. Now I can't wait for spring!!!!

Welcome to DG! Have you been to the Butterflies and Hummers forum? Sounds like it would be right up your alley.

Orlando, FL(Zone 9b)

I'd be happy to tell you what's worked for me to attract b-flies in FL but it may not work where you are. So where are you located and/or what zone are you in? Two great b-fly nectar plants here are pentas (especially the red ones) and red porterweed (brain is blank on latin name at the moment, genus name starts with an S and species is something like jamaicensis). Lantana is good, but check on the genus and species of Lantana and it's status before you plant it--L. camara is considered a Category I (the worst kind) exotic invasive in FL so I won't plant it. To attract the greatest number of b-flies, you want to have both larval foods for the caterpillars and nectar foods for the butterflies. Make sure you don't use any pesticides in the area around your b-fly garden. I can't help much with hummers. I've tried feeders and flowers they supposedly love, but still haven't seen a one! I know they're around, just not at my place.

Crossville, TN

'Shoe sent me some Tithonia (Mexican Sunflower) and the Butterflies and Hummers LOVED it. And it bloomed for the longest time. Jo

Grove City, OH(Zone 6a)

Welcome '76 :) Any friend of Ruby has to be very very welcome. When you get a chance, go check out the forum on Butterflies and Wild Life and Birds and.... Lots and lots of goodies in the threads.

I have been getting rufous hummingbirds the last two winters (in the midwest!!!) and am just starting to learn how to get shelter and food for them during the lean times.

Newark, OH(Zone 5b)