Hello Everyone at DG's

Cortlandt Manor, NY(Zone 6a)

I have been using D.Garden for a few months, but just recently became a subscriber. I am amazed at how nice and helpful the people are that I have met through this sight.

I am fairly new at gardening but am completely hooked on it. I really like vines (mg's and clematis), Dahlia's and Irises and I have a rock garden that I dote on. However this Autumn - I went a little crazy and dug several new garden plots in my back yard and have big plans to grow many things from seed next spring to fill it. One of the plots is on the south side of my house, this is my shade garden. I have bought several interesting shade plants to start filling it - - Walsteinia ternata, 2 diff. Lobelias, Dog's Tooth Lilies. I also have a few seeds I will try too. Besides that I decided to clear the 4ft - 150 ft. of brush that is behind our house - - it runs alongside the woods and was full of poison ivy, prickers and weeds. (Even with gloves, long shirt and pants - I still have poison ivy everywhere - 2 weeks later
:( )
I am turning this into a bed as well. I am trying to put masses of campanula blue and white clips, walsteinia, periscaria bistorta - - and anything else that will give color, choke out the weeds and tolerate some shade.

I also have one other bed that is fully prepared for growing annuals by seeds.

I am also a stay-home Mom of 2 little ones. Fortunately my daughter who is 3 1/2 loves to dig :) and my 1 yr old still takes nice long naps. When I am not gardening - or caring for my kids, I am painting -- oil painting that is.

So that is my gardening venture - - I am really enjoying it and very excited for what will come -- I know there will probably be some failures, but I feel that the successes will be worth it and I'll be sure to post some pictures.

This message was edited Thursday, Nov 14th 7:58 AM