So Lucky to have found this forum!

OC, CA & Twin Lakes , IA(Zone 4b)

My name is Arlene. Moved to Twin Lakes in Iowa (Zone 4b) after 26 years in Southern California. I am a Chiropractor and a chef.

Presently: Enrolled-Master Gardener Class-Iowa State

CURRENT PROJECT-Removed everything between house and road (other side of the house faces the lake), built a new garage and am now in the planning stages of all courtyard, retainers, and plants - no lawn.

My Focus is:
- Tropical Hibiscus (have 1 double ruffle peach-3 years old
and a new yellow w/ red throat called "Sundance"

- Topiary with an Oriental (Bonzai'd) look (not the little bitty ones in a tray, but taking a tree or shrub in the yard and pruning it to give unusual look.

New Favorite plants: peonies, hydrangea, iris

- Interest in building something around my new vegetable garden area, with greenhouse like materials, that
has removable parts. To put up for protection when winds
get high and remove on nice days. Maybe an over sized
cold frame of sorts?

I will be checking this forum daily, so any input is appreciated.

This message was edited Tuesday, Nov 12th 11:18 AM

Welcome, Arlene! DG is just the best. Looking forward to seeing you around this beautiful garden.

Edited to say that I did not choose to use Tamarack; found out from neighbors that they are too invasive.

This message was edited Wednesday, Aug 13th 7:45 AM

Thumbnail by TwinLakesChef

Was that photo shot on your property? Very lush, if leggy!

Thank you for the welcome, White Rose

No it wasn't my yard - YET. From a neighbor.

Am looking right now to find photos to show you my progress. We razed the property in spring and brought in 25 truckloads of soil to raise property level. Then built new garage. Final project is to do all landscaping and plants, shrubs, trees. Plus pergola with some Oriental
influence.

Oh, that will be beautiful. How did you find DG, were you doing a search?

Huntington Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

Arlene, Arlene,....