Mold!

Hampstead, NC(Zone 8a)

Help! My hanging to dry gourds are getting fuzzy mold on them. What can I do to stop the process?

Donna

Crossville, TN

belledonna...I thought that was normal...someone...like Dave, windsurffer or horseshoe will come along and tell us though. HEY YA'LL...Hurry up here. Jo

Jonesboro, GA(Zone 7b)

I'm sure I read last year that this is normal - when they all get through drying and molding - just soak them in a bleach solution and scrub it off.

Crossville, TN

yes, it will scrub off, but the darker spots will remain...but I think they give them character.... Belle...go to the thread windsurffer did on ...I think...egg gourds...she showed how to scrape them...this is supposed to keep them from molding. Jo

Dayton, OH(Zone 5a)

Belledonna, this is my first year growing gourds; I've never dried them before. I have a book called "Gourds in Your Garden". It states that if you didn't specifically remove the epidermis from the gourd after harvesting, "...the gourd will become somewhat dirty and covered with a peeling, flaking or slightly molded outer layer." It suggests soaking the gourd in warm water first for up to an hour. You'll have to weigh it down since gourds will float when they are dry. You can add detergent or household disinfectent in the water while soaking the gourds, but it's not necessary. After the gourds have soaked, you can more easily scrape off the epidermis with a scrub pad from the kitchen. It recommends a copper pad. Then, you are to rinse and let dry.

Hope this helps...

Crossville, TN

The above is to be used on DRY gourds I believe...Belle, can your gourds be dry already? Jo

Dayton, OH(Zone 5a)

Thanks, Jo, you are right. This is for DRIED gourds. I think Windsurffer gently removes the mold periodically during the drying process, but I'm not sure how she does it.

Hampstead, NC(Zone 8a)

Nope not dry already. Glad to know the fuzzy will go away!
Thanks ya'll!

(Zone 5a)