City Gardeners?

New York, NY(Zone 7a)

http://davesgarden.com/s/338724.html

My city gardener thread- anyone out there?

Cleveland, OH(Zone 5b)

I'm not sure if I qualify to be a TRUE city gardener. I do have a house with a small front and back yard. I'm not in Downtown Cleveland,Ohio, but my house is in the city. This is my first year at this house and have had to start from scratch. There was only grass - not nice grass either. So I took out ALL the grass in the backyard and have been slowly turning it into a perennial garden. Some of which was given to me from DG members in Spring.
So, I'll keep my eye on this thread to see if I fit in.
WELCOME TO DG!!!!

New York, NY(Zone 7a)

Thanks Celia- I'm sure we'll have tons to chat about- I too had no garden to move into. The place was rubble and a these invasive weed plants that seem to be in any yard that people don't take care of.

I'm still modifying my grass. The part of NYC that I live in was originally landfill for other construction, so it's a never ending battle with rocks, flagstone, pebbles and bricks. But this is the first summer the grass actually stuck. I have some brown patches, but at least it mostly looks like grass now, instead of rubble.

I'd be interested in seeing what you've done- any pix online?

Tucson, AZ(Zone 9a)

i'm a city gardener as well. we have a patio gardener in a small apartment.

Cleveland, OH(Zone 5b)

City in AZ????? Wow, that's hard to imagine. I always think of Arizona as all wide open spaces.
What are you growing on your patio garden? All containers then? That's very challenging. I applaude you!

Tucson, AZ(Zone 9a)