Virginia Creeper

Newport, OR(Zone 5a)

Does anyone have experience growing Virginia Creeper in the High desert of southern California? We have a block wall that is rather stark and unattractive. I would like to cover it with some kind of perenial vine. Any suggestions? I'm wondering if Virginia Creeper can take the intense heat and the extreme cold we sometimes have.

Mount Angel, OR(Zone 8a)

Hi forgetmenot, my experience with virginia creeper is that it is very vigorous, would probably do fine where you are at, I'm zone 8 too.,the kind I have climbs by these little suction disks so it would do great on a wall. Look in the Sunset western garden book for good info. But beware they're quite vigorous probably comparable to wisteria.

Netcong, NJ(Zone 5b)

I'm on the border of 5a/6b and I have it completely covering my entire front porch!I'm sure it could take the cold,how much heat it could take(on a prolonged basis),that I have no experience with.I would imagine that a vine that is watered alot(if at all possible)to build up its rootstock would have a better chance.

Germantown, TN(Zone 7b)

I'm in zone 7b and we can't run it off with napalm or roundup. If it gets started it should do fine. It's not that much of a thug, but why not a prettier vine???

Newport, OR(Zone 5a)