pine trees. ivy. what else ???

Silver Lake, OH(Zone 5b)

My neighbor's ancient pines overhang much of my yard, thus my soil must be quite acidic...

I'm new at this so if this question seems dumb, forgive my lack of knowledge...

What grows in pine tree shade? Can I fix the acidity of the soil somehow? If I do that will the bushels and bushels of ivy die out?

Thanks in advance for your help...

Janie
<}}}><

Jonesboro, GA(Zone 7b)

Janiejoy - Do you want the bushels of ivy to die out??? I had a similar problem but in my own yard. We have lots of pine trees here in Ga and very acid, clay soil. We worked for months pulling out all that ivy that was climbing the pine trees and any thing in it's path. We then had about 24 trees removed, leaving only Dogwoods, Oaks and a few hickorys. So I still have plenty of shade where I grow many hostas, ferns, azaleas and Rhodis. I love my shade garden - much more interesting than all that ivy.

Silver Lake, OH(Zone 5b)

Thanks Azalea.... no way I can get rid of the neighbor's pines but I CAN get rid of the ivy... going to hire someone to clear that back part of the yard so I can start on the little serene escape area I'd like to make back in those trees.... a little patio with a roof on it and a bench or table and chairs or swing... a place to read my Bible or pray or talk with a close friend or cuddle with my hubby on a lovely summer night... I have lots of dreams though... and not so much get up and go nowadays. Hoping the coral calcium I am taking will help me get better so I can get a lot of stuff done myself.

Thanks for your encouragement.

Baker City, OR(Zone 5b)

Janiejoy, I hope you take some before and after pictures, this sounds like a neat project, and I hope you feel better real soon so you can help make that dream come true. Begonias might be another flower that will brighten up the shade.

New York City, NY(Zone 6b)

Here's my unasked for two cents ;~)