Where are my herb seeds located on the plant?

Ashland, OH(Zone 6a)

Could someone tell me where the seeds usually are on herbs? I have just about every herb that will grow in zone 3, and this is my first attempt at trying to collect any seeds. I know some of them spread by their roots (like my french tarragon), but what about these: oregano, lemon thyme, thyme, and sage? Also my mint plants: peppermint, catnip, apple mint, and lemon balm?

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)

Hi AuntyB
Sage is pretty easy. Run your hand up the dried flower stalk pulling all the dried up flowers off. I collect all this stuff in a container then pour it onto a cookie sheet. Keep the cookie sheet tilted and the round sage seeds roll to the bottom of the pan. If you keep crunching up the debris with your hands and tossing it around more and more seeds roll down. Then you can gather them up real easy and toss all the chaff.

Mints will not come true since they cross pollinate so readily. You can collect seeds from them and grow them if you don't care about the varieties. Seeds are much smaller than sage but they're round and they'll roll if you use the cookie sheet method again. You might have to gently blow some up the debris out. Catnip will come true... it's a nepeta ...not really a mint. You should gather those seeds before you end up with a catnip garden - everywhere! They re-seed like crazy! Just cut the stalks and shake into a bag. The seeds fall right out. I just collected some the other day. I brought them in (still in the bag)... turned my back... and the darn cat had them spread all over the floor.

Lemon balm has lots of seeds too. I think they'll fall into a bag with a few shakes.