Sun burned Boston Fern. Help!!!!

Oak Ridge, NJ(Zone 6a)

Hi, Need your help. Bought a beautiful lush Boston Fern in a lovely ornate container. Thought the info on it said "sun", instead it was "sun to shade". My beautiful fern, which was out in full sun, is now turning brown. Do I trim back the brown fronds, or just leave them alone. Don't want to do any more damage than I already have. Thanks

Paxton, FL(Zone 8a)

I'm no fern expert, but my personal experience would say if the fronds are totally brown then cut them back. If you keep watering the fern no matter how bad it looks, chances are it will come back out with new fronds. It may take a while to get full looking if a lot of fronds are dead. As long as the roots did not stay dry for a long period, it should revive.

Chicago, IL

Cut back the burned fronds close to their base.

Place the plant in bright indirect light.

Over watering can do just as much damage, so keep the soil moist, but not soaking.

If you do not have any air circulation where the plant is, consider putting a small electric fan in the same room and keep it turned on, otherwise an open window will work fine too, just something that will help keep the air moving.

Mist your plant in the morning, or evening, daily until it you see new growth emerging. You may want to consider plant food after you've nursed your plant for two weeks, but I wouldn't recommend it right away. The sudden surge of nutrients after a harsh burn could shock it. Cut back the misting to two to three days a week after recovery is noticable. Mist more often during hot periods in the summer. If you have forced air heat in the winter, you'll need to up the circulation as well as the misting. Keeping your fern in a bright bathroom where there is a shower can also serve as a good hospital.

Whatever you decide, it is just as important to keep the plant in one place. Moving it from room to room can simulate an earthquake, or unstable ground and stunt your plant's growth habit.