Daylilies

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)

How many hem heads are here at Dave's anyway?

I don't consider myself one :-] Gettin' close though!

Powhatan, VA(Zone 6b)

Hi poppysue,

I am a newbie here, but also a "hem nut" . I was bitten by the bug a year ago, now I want them all. I started hybridizing as well. I love this site. I love gardening and anything related to plants.

Sally

MD &, VA(Zone 7b)

Hemhead steppin' up!

puttyrat, how is the hybridizing going? I'm starting this year with my hems and some iris.

I started some seed from my stella's but don't know who the other parent was...they are coming up but only time will tell what they will look like...

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)

I started daylily seeds for the first time this year. I traded for some hand crosses. I can't wait to see how they turn out. I've never been a big daylily fan but last year I was bitten by the bug too and I traded for about 50 different kinds. They've all been sleeping in my vegetable garden for the winter. I'm praying they all make it - it got kind of late to be planting when I got the last trades. I've been trying to figure out how I'll incorporate all of these into my beds. I gotta make a lot of room some how!

Deep South Coastal, TX(Zone 10a)

Hi,
Don't know if I'm a "Hem Nut" yet, I only have about 600 of them!! I have 150 varieties that I bought and the rest I hybridized myself. They take 2-3 years to bloom from seed, but it's worth the wait.
Be careful when crossing certain colors so as not to get "muddy" colors, and remember that tetras and di's don't cross.
Stellas almost always make more Stellas from seed, but one never knows!!
Calalily

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

besides the orange common type-I bought 4 different types from my neighbor last year-$2 for 3 fans--actually I got 43 fans for $20.00 he has several types-I will be going back this summer also...found out they are edible also! neat-o
calalily Im impressed-Im learning so much this year here at daves!

dori