Can some kind, knowledgeable soul help me?

Round Lake, IL(Zone 5a)

Hi...I have just received a cryptomeria in the mail. It is sort of balled and bagged presently sitting on my countertop. It's in natural state (mostly upright). It's approximately 12" tall.
I need specific info on this tree and it's needs for soil medium and even good directions on potting, please.
I am new to bonsai and really want to try to have some success with this beautiful tree.
Thanks!

ehrikon, Switzerland(Zone 6b)

12 " is high, (is it ca.36 cm?)It needs an 8 " long pot.
soil: 1/3 potground, 1/3 sand and 1/3 fine stone chips.
let 1/3 of the old soil and put in a 2/3 biger pot.
I would cut the tree shorter, but it's difficult to see how much without picture.
post some pic in the photo thread, may I help you better.

bert

Round Lake, IL(Zone 5a)

Well, as it is in natural state right now, I am assuming there will be some real pruning involved. (I will post pics when I can get them.)
I am curious about the term potground. I don't know what that is...is it organic matter? I want to be sure I get the right stone chips...just a little gravel?
Will get the 8" long pot, sand, and gravel tonight. Will wait to hear about the potground. :)
Thank you for your help, Bert! I am really grateful!

Jennifer

can you find any potground called "Bonsai-soil", if not use a normal, good plantsoil.

Round Lake, IL(Zone 5a)

Well, here's what I had to do. I used a temporary pot for now. I have mixed 1/3 potting soil, 1/3 sand, and 1/3 gravel. I screened it all and seem to have a good mix.
There is an earthworm living in the tree roots that I couldn't get out, so he lives in the pot now.
I will be taking pics of the tree and posting them so you can give me advice on the pruning.
Thanks for you help so far!
Oh, and I am trying to figure out a watering schedule now.

Jennifer

worm 's no problem

Palmyra, VA(Zone 7a)

Jennifer