Basil... preservation.

Meridian, MS

Hi all... I'm new here... hope I'm posting in the right place... please pardon me if I'm not.

This is my first year at attempting to grow a full garden... including herbs.... All things worked out well for the year.... but my Basil is still growing... everything else has died off. I live in Mississippi... and it's still very warm here... My basil and okra are the only two things left that are growing... The okra.. I love... but I know it's about to go away... The basil however... is still growing... rapidly... It's a huge plant.... Fall is already here, but yet, it's still 90 degrees everyday... but that won't last for much longer. Could someone with a much greener thumb than I have... tell me what I could/can do... to preserve my basil? I have hundreds of REALLY healthy leaves.... What is the proper thing to do here? I greatly appreciate any help!

Move the leaves promptly to an ice shower. Wipe the leaves off or turn dry in a plate of mixed greens spinner. The leaves must be just about as dry as could really be expected. Put the basil leaves in layers on material or wax paper and store them in a cooler safe holder.

London, United Kingdom

First off, congrats on your first year of gardening! It sounds like you've had a pretty successful year, especially with that basil. Basil can thrive in warmer temperatures, which is probably why it's still doing so well in Mississippi's heat.

Preserving basil allows you to savor its freshness long after its peak growing season. For a traditional method, consider drying: simply hang bunches of basil upside down in a cool, dry location. After a week or two, when they're fully dried, you can crumble the leaves and store them in airtight containers. Another popular method is freezing: chop your basil and place portions in ice cube trays, filling each compartment with water or olive oil. Once frozen, these cubes can be used directly in your cooking, retaining the basil's signature flavor.