Help Please! Tomato Plants Died A Bizarre Death!! Nightshade Killer Shag Carpet Fungi??

Sedona, United States

Among lots of other stuff I usually plant about 6 different kinds of tomatoes each year, around 50 plants. I start everything from seed and always start with a few extra of each just in case some don't make it I can replace them early on. Planted out a dozen 'Beefsteak' tomatoes and they are all doing great in a big bed.
I had 3 beautiful Beefsteaks about 18” tall still sitting in pots. I dropped them out of their pots last week and saw lots of beautiful white roots that were filling up the pots and would soon be pot bound. So I pulled out a bunch of weeds and planted them out in a small bed that I seldom use. I amended the bed that day with a bag of organic dirt. It is the same dirt (not the same bag) that I used to pot them up in as they were growing. I've been using that brand of dirt for 3 years now with no problems.
The very next day they didn't look so great any more. And by day 4 two of them were almost dead! I freaked out a little and immediately pulled these 2 up, put them back in their pots and took them out to the driveway to get a better look at them. That is picture # 2.