Freeze Damage to Jane Magnolia Bloosoms

Rockville, MD

The recent MidAtlantic freeze killed the buds which had formed on my Jane Magnolia. If I deadhead them, will I get a second bloom? Should I do anything? Thanks

Thumbnail by MartieMJ
Castro Valley, CA

I am no expert on these but my take is no, you won't get it to replace the damaged buds but any buds that were going to erupt will still do so. It should shed its old blooms on its own.

Your kind of magnolia should bloom again on its own in the summer as it is a reblooming kind.

If the growth tips of the branches did not get frost burn, it should be fine with just your regular care. It looks like a happy tree for it put out a lot of blooms so you must be doing lots right.

Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in. Here we do not suffer frost on magnolia blooms.

Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

ZilyZily has got it about right. 'Jane' and many other early season Magnolia species and selections often suffer this fate with variable spring weather conditions. About one in five springs here in the Ohio River valley is the expectation for a full bloom cycle without a freeze or frost. Otherwise, we get what you see: the promise of exhilaration, and suddenly a bunch of dishrag limp brownish mush.