Fig tree suckers at base of trunk remove or leave alone?

Chillicothe, OH

The subject says it all. I purchased two different varieties of fig trees. These are between knee and waist high. They came with suckers (or what I call suckers). I planted them as-is, but wondered if I should prune them back to the main tree trunk or leave them alone?

I included two marked-up photos highlighting the suckers on each tree. I'm new to using the snipping tool in Windows marking up the pics, so forgive me if the line is too narrow. I already figured out how to make the lines thicker, but I think what I posted here will suffice, except they turn out to be small in the actual post. There is one sapling coming out of the ground with a bud on it and the other 3 suckers are ones with a leaf.

If you use CTRL+ a few times, you'll enlarge the page along with the pictures.

Thanks!!!
Donald

Thumbnail by Melissande Thumbnail by Melissande
Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

I can't imagine them being hardy in your zone having lost young figs in N. GA.. I read that diehard fig lovers in cold zones will grow them in pots and bury them in shallow trenches covered with straw in winter.

Figs are somewhere between shrubs and trees. I have six producing Celeste and Brown Turkey figs and only prune branches in the way. Two are around fifteen feet tall so there is fruit to share with wildlife. I'd remove the lowest branches just to make it more accessible later and prevent rooting/spreading at the base. What varieties did you plant?

Chillicothe, OH

These are varieties supposed to be cold tolerant to 10 below zero Fahrenheit. I don't remember the varieties though. They are two different varieties to increase yield, but I'm growing them more fit a low height tree for some shade.

Sorry for the late response but I'm not getting notifications from here when I get a reply.

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)