Mystery Munchers

Captain Cook, HI

I'm growing strawberries in towers I designed and built. The plants are doing well, but they have attracted an insect pest. The damage occurs on plants that are in the upper part of the 6' tall towers. This tells me the pests are flying insects, for I'm sure a ground insect would eat the first leaf it came to.

No sign of them during the day, so I'll be going out tonight to see if I can find one of the critters at work. In case I fail (or the bugs operate only during the graveyard shift), I thought that one of Dave's experts might link the leaf damage to a specific pest.

Thanks in advance.

Thumbnail by spartan3
San Leandro, CA(Zone 9b)

I am no expert but it looks like caterpillar damage. They can eat at night to protect themselves from being dinner. http://www.wildlifeinsight.com/guide-to-british-caterpillars/caterpillar-survival-strategies/

Some are difficult to see as they can camouflage themselves so well. Have you noticed any caterpillar doo?

Before you use any method to kill them, if in fact that is what they are, pause and think if maybe you can share a few leaves. If the damage is not extensive, you might be rewarded with some beautiful butterflies.

One of my biggest regrets was killing lots of Monarch caterpillars 1 day that were eating a passion flower vine. Years later I read how they would have only fed a few weeks, not killing the plant. I so regret my ignorant deed, even many years later. Another time I killed a beautiful tomato hornworm found on a tomato plant. I only found 1. How selfish of me not to share a few leaves. I deprived the world of a magnificent Sphinx moth.

However I have killed those tiny green caterpillars by the dozen when they would eat my petunia flowers. I used Bt. and it was a great success with just 1 spraying. I never felt even a pang of guilt. LOL

This article may help you. Plus it covers why the damage is high up and why it is happening in the fall.