Seed Starting

Rio Rancho, NM(Zone 7b)

I want to start some plants this year from seed indoors. Although I have planted seeds and grew things indoors, this is my first time starting seeds with the purpose of transplanting. My question, there are grow lights and heat mats and timers, seed pods galore. How much of that is really necessary? I have planted a seed and grew fine, but yet there's so much out there...

I would appreciate any help on which things are really necessary and links to products that are useful. At this time I'm not looking for a huge DIY system I have to create myself, yet not something outrageously expensive or enormous either. Kind of middle of the road would be good... like a 'take and bake'.

Calgary, AB(Zone 3b)

It depends largely on how long you'll have the seedlings indoors.
Lights, usually fluorescent, are necessary if you're starting seeds months before your last frost date, that will have to be kept indoors to put on growth. If you're planting vegetable and annual seeds - things that have very simple, rapid germination (compared to perennials) - and plan to plant them out in short order (e.g. once they've reached the true leaf stage and are easier to handle), you may be able to get away with a sunny window sill.

Heat mats are only helpful if you're growing in an unusually cold place. Dr. Norm Deno answered the question in his Second Supplement to Seed Germination Theory and Practice, as follows: