CLOSED: Townsend's Solitaire?

Pueblo, CO(Zone 5b)

This is two separate birds in the same tree. They seemed to be together and so the same type of bird. My best guess is Townsend's Solitaire.

Thumbnail by pollengarden Thumbnail by pollengarden
(Zone 5a)

My first impression is a Mountain Bluebird. In the first photo, I seem to see a distinct contrast on the breast/belly area down to white below the tail. A Solitaire doesn't seem to show the contrast, at least in the photos I've looked through. Do you happen to have any other photos? I'd like to see the forehead area/ bill more clearly.

Look at these photos from All About Birds to see the difference in the bills.
http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/spp_photos.aspx?spp=1&sppid=504&keepThis=true&TB_iframe=true&height=488&width=875

I have no personal experience with either of these two birds, so I could be way off. I hope Resin will come by. :)

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Ditto to Mountain Bluebird

Resin

Pueblo, CO(Zone 5b)

There were a lot of mountain bluebirds in the area, probably the most common bird sighted that day. Pro, increases the odds of me seeing a bluebird; con, decreases the odds of me not recognizing a bluebird. We did see them in flight and there was no blue on the wings or back at all. Also I thought they were slightly larger than the bluebirds, but I have misjudged size before.

(Zone 5a)

I looked again at your photos. The All About Birds' page (http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Mountain_Bluebird/id) has this tidbit...
"On perched Townsend’s Solitaires, the folded wings fall well short of the tip of the very long tail, while the very long wings of Mountain Bluebird nearly reach the tail tip. "

On the page I linked to in my first comment, I looked at both birds' winged and can clearly see the difference. I think I see the wing tip on your photos. It looks long enough to be a Bluebird.

Pueblo, CO(Zone 5b)

Okay I concede defeat. Thanks for the tip about the wing tips.