Basic Question about Borders

Huntsville, AL

I am very new to landscaping and gardening, having moved from a DC condo to a nice house in the South a couple of years ago. Last summer, I removed about 1,500 square feet of invasive vines and suckers from the back edge of our property and spent the fall, winter, and spring making sure it was gone and would not return. I am now satisfied that I have rid that portion of the yard of the unsightly mess I had before and found the process highly therapeutic and enjoyable.

Now I want to put some shrubs and small trees there. The goal is two-fold: something nice to look at and some privacy. I have a large cedar and a large hackberry on each side of the area (about 80' wide), so I have some heavier shade, some partial shade with afternoon sun, and some full sun.

I have read several books over the past year (Dirr's book on Trees and Shrubs, the Southern Living book, and some gardening books specific to my state) and have visited many local nurseries, HDs, and Lowes, but still have some very basic questions that I hope you all might be able to answer:

1. Does having several small trees/large shrubs in a straight line look strange if they are not the same?
2. If so, is it better to stagger the plants across a swath of land or add a line of smaller shrubs in front of the larger shrubs?
3. Either way, does a border have to be only evergreen shrubs?
4. Does it look odd to have only one plant flower in a particular season, e.g., a witch hazel or camellia in winter?

I recognize that these may be pretty basic questions, but appreciate any guidance you can offer.

Thanks so much!

Contra Costa County, CA(Zone 9b)

Straight line vs angles vs curves:
If the house and garden is formal, then straight lines and geometrical angles and symmetrical curves are the way to go.