Confounding, compounding compost!

Ellwood City, PA

I'm a new gardener and a new member of the community. I'm interested in flower gardening, and I've most recently been reading up on the importance of good soil and the value of compost.

I have a question that might seem really silly to some of the more experienced members here, but perhaps someone could enlighten me.

It's recommended that you add several inches of compost to your garden yearly, but wouldn't there come a time when it would be necessary to REMOVE some dirt, to accommodate the added inches? I mean, how do you keep adding compost and not eventually build the soil level up too high?

I'm sure I sound like the complete novice that I am, but I'm hoping that someone can answer my question.

Thank you!

It does seem perplexing at first. Compost continues to break down with rain, weather, earthworms and other tiny, almost invisible creatures and the nutrients filter down, helping the soil below. If you've ever started a yard waste pile (ultimately for compost), it will shrink over a few months as the components are broken down. Adding compost isn't a "one and done" thing but something that's done continually.

Milton, MA(Zone 6a)

I don't think it would be possible to remove compost; it becomes one with what's underneath.

Ayrshire Scotland, United Kingdom

Welcome to Daves Gardening Forums adh123, I know you will learn lots and pick up many hints and tips as you go along.

You right when you say it seems strange to have to add composted materials to your garden soil each year, and strange when your told you should.
Compost is a natural compound that at the dying down and break up of all the solids we throw onto our compost heaps it breaks up into small particles resembling store purchased potting compost,
and the large heap you started off as your compost heap soon resemble just a few bucket loads of compost to add to your bed / border,