Best Vegetables for fall planting

Dundee, MI(Zone 6a)

Hi everyone. I know it's only July, but I am already starting to plan for my fall plantings. I am in south-east Michigan. Since I am relatively new to this, I was hoping for suggestions on what to plant. This will be the first year that I am going to plant in the late summer/fall. Our first frost is usually early to mid-October. I was thinking bok choy and a 2-3 other things. Suggestions?

Contra Costa County, CA(Zone 9b)

Check the date that the earliest frost is expected. Get these plants going before then, so they are established in the garden, though still young. These are OK in the milder fall weather, and can handle light frosts.
You can also set up a hoop garden: While the weather might be a bit too hot you can put some shade cloth over the young plants for a couple of weeks and get them going earlier. Then, when it gets colder use a clear plastic cover to extend the season. You can probably add as much as a month longer growing time, into the early winter.

Pretty much all the crucifers-
Broccoli, Cauliflower, Kale, Cabbage, Brussels Sprouts, Chinese Cabbages and Greens....

Most of the root crops-
Carrot, Turnip, Radish, Beet
Start small rows of seeds of each of these perhaps every 2 weeks. Note which rows were started when, and record that for next year- which crops failed because it got too cold? That is a reasonable guess as to when to stop planting things. This timing will vary with the weather, and if you use a hoop system to extend the season.

Most of the leaf crops-
Lettuce, Spinach and pretty much all the assorted greens.
You can do the same with these as I suggested with the root crops.

A few others such as Snow Peas.

The plants to avoid are the crops that need heat to ripen, which are mostly the crops that give us fruits that we call vegetables. Tomato, Peppers, Squash, Melon, Pumpkin, Cucumbers, Corn
And avoid crops that take too long to ripen such as most Onions and Garlic.