What's the best time to move hostas and other perennials?

Yakima, WA

I'm pretty new to growing flowers. I'm trying to re-work a couple flower beds where last year I planted some things in too much sun, some too shady. Think I'm getting a better feel for how much sun there really is with our 100+ degree weather! I'd like to try moving the following plants: iris, allium, lilies, fern, hostas, heuchera. Also divide and transplant bugleweed, vinca, and strawberries. Can somebody tell me the best time of year to do this?

The area I'm moving most of those plants to is more shady. The soil is very clay, so in Feb. (in zone 6) I added an inch or 2 of rotten wood mulch and a couple more inches of grass clippings in March. That's mostly decomposed now and the soil is nicer but will need more help. Any suggestions for more amendments?

Lititz, PA(Zone 6b)

Your soil amendments sound like good things to add. The grass will add much nitrogen to the soil and the decomposed mulch will add other beneficial nutrients. If you're getting temps close to 100, you might want to wait until next spring to do the transplanting.

Ayrshire Scotland, United Kingdom

The best time to transplant ALL plants is end of summer, tree's, shrubs, bulbs etc all need the cooler soil conditions to be given any chance of recovering after transplant,

IF you miss that time, then next best time is EARLY spring, before the heated temps gather pace, the idea for those periods is, end of summer the soil is starting to cool down but still warm enough for the roots to settle, in spring, after winter rest, the soil is JUST starting to warm and it allows the roots to settle before the real hot weather arrives.

The plants you mention moving are a mixture of sun and shade loving types. Iris, Lily's, Alliums and Strawberries all like full sun, the others, Ferns, Hosta's and Heuchera all need cooler shaded areas.
The last 2 types of plants can take dappled shade to do well BUT NOT blazing sun.