Sumac Verticillium wilt?

Beautiful, BC(Zone 8b)

I believe this is Verticillium wilt on Rhus typhina (Sumac). Looking for confirmation.

I posted in the pest and disease forum but with no response.

Thumbnail by growin Thumbnail by growin Thumbnail by growin
Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

Your images show a distressed Sumac indeed.

Cut one of those dying/dead stems, and look for indicative discoloration in the xylem/phloem layers.

Jackson, MO(Zone 6b)

Why would this happen?

Beautiful, BC(Zone 8b)

There is discoloration of the xylem/phloem layers in that they turned to powder, which is the light brown powder coming out of the cracks in the stem.

I had only heard/read about this and knew it could be found on the coast, more than inland. As this is my first time seeing this, I have been looking for opinions if I got the ID right. The owner of this tree, first said it wilted in the dry weather so I was expecting drought on the Sumac. What I saw, and told was only in 2 weeks, shocked me.

birder17 - take a read of this: https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=255

Jackson, MO(Zone 6b)

Thanks for the reference.
I have had this in a Clematis plant, and I get it occasionally with snapdragons.
With the Clematis, I cut off the vine that was infected and left the rest of it. It recovered.
With the snapdragon, I pull them out and toss them in the trash.
I did not realize this was a problem in trees also.

I always thought it was a problem with too much moisture. I didn't really read the "cause". It describes what happens and the cause they say is a "fungus". I was wondering why the fungus appears. Now, I'm thinking it's a "moisture" problem: too much water or too little water.
Is this true?

Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

Quoting: