Hydrangeas won't bloom

Hollis, NH

I have been researching this for a few years and can't solve why my hydrangeas won't bloom.
- I have tried not pruning - didn't work
- I have tried not pruning and protecting over winter with leaves surrounded by burlap - pics attached show this doesn't seem to have worked.

Pics attached are this year and again, I see no blooms. The first two are unidentified but the third, which is a row of three Teller Blue macrophylla. I am thinking of trying fertilizer just because I haven't done it yet.

Any ideas anyone?
thanks!
Laura

Thumbnail by Lauranh Thumbnail by Lauranh Thumbnail by Lauranh
Thomaston, CT

This is an ongoing problem for me as well....even those hydrangeas blooming on new wood like Endless Summer, do not put forth blooms if the conditions aren't right....last year, I had one bloom on Endless Summer....this year it has many blooms....don't ask me why because both winters were very cold & snowy! My Dad always seemed to have success with the burlap & leaves.....On the other hand, I read a book on hydrangeas at my niece's house in Pittsford NY ....She's a zone warmer because of Lake Ontario, & this book was written by a hydrangea hybridizer in her area. He suggested that ALL hydrangeas should be kept in pots in an unheated garage over the winter in any zones colder than 7....well, that's OK if you want small ones.....I have really large ones that would have to be seriously pruned & divided for that to happen....I guess you are supposed to sink the pot into the soil come spring, & dig it out in the fall....too much work! I do fertilize my bushes, but again, it depends on the weather....I think! Hope this helps.

Riverhead, NY

Hi Laura,