Ajuga reptans by seed?

Elkton, VA

Hey, everybody, I'm an amateur gardener, self-taught, in Shen Valley Virginia with clay soil. I'm kind of opportunistic (and shameless) so my plants are usually from seed or the gardens of friends and if its not a perennial I avoid it.

My current long-term (years and years) project is: a 15' high clearance deck facing east and frequently dry underneath but well sheltered in winter, summer midmorning sun 3-5 hours, deep shade otherwise.

Thyme and mint varieties have grown on the northern sunnier end aggressively but the plumber failed to tell me they would be going right through that garden last year . . . so I lost all my established herbs and grasses. I really miss the curry plant, so fragrant. The southern end is annually invaded by undesirable natives (Joe Pye, Bugle, sweet potato vine) and nothing I have tried to replace them with has taken off.

What I've tried: hosta, ferns, bulbs & rhizomes, azalea, perennial wildflowers, ground ivy, herbs, shade loving step-ables. Dry conditions are an issue; wildlife is prolific and anything edible has been "predated upon to extinction" as they say. Soil conditions - I've tried digging up 6 inches and mixing with mulch and starter soil, and also leaving it fallow for a year then turning over. pH is fairly neutral now.

Common bugleweed kept coming back now matter how much I happen to dislike it so in a vague imitation of nature I bought a tester plant of Ajuga reptans 'mahogany' and it is thriving! and I really like it! (how is it possible the two plants are related?)

Challenge: its almost 300sf and I can't afford shipped flat prices, local nurseries don't carry these varieties in flats.

I looked to buy seed but can't find mahogany anywhere; bronze beauty looks nice and has limited availability online but I have reservations about the sellers.