Nitrogen and garden use -HELP dying plants

Midlothian, VA

I am new to gardening. I planted in bales using nitrogen to break them down. Now they badly need fertilized but I don't know what I am doing. I don't want to use a heavy chemical but death to the plants isn't a great option either. I am afraid if I use nitrogen in the form of blood meal I will burn my plants. Please Help

Contra Costa County, CA(Zone 9b)

Blood meal should not burn, it is slower release than most chemical forms of nitrogen. Dust on a little bit and water it in.

You could try fish emulsion, too.

Are the plants showing other nutrient deficiencies? Or just N?

Midlothian, VA

Thank you Diana_K I will try both of those things. I have no idea what the issues are. Some yellowing/brown spots. No doubt some bugs eating but is it more than that, I have no idea. I will try and post some pictures. Also Tomato plants have a dark hue to them?? I have no idea what I am doing. I grew up with fertile soil where you stick something in the ground and it grows beautifully. Not so much here.

Ayrshire Scotland, United Kingdom

Dark hues on Tomato's can be cold night temp's, I would rather see some pictures and some idea as to what type of plants you are concerned about as sometimes one species of plant gets a disease while a different type of plant sitting next to it wont be troubled by the same problems.

Best of luck and Kind Regards.
WeeNel.

Midlothian, VA

We actually did just have colder temps. I noticed today that the darkness has gone. Thanks!

You need to try send pictures as this will show the size of the plants, the foliage and any discolourations on the folliage,