What to grow in containers?

Saint Paul, MN

Hi!

I'm relatively new to container gardening. The only thing I've successfully grown in containers has been tomatoes. I've been using Home Depot 5 gallon buckets (painted to look better) as my containers thus far. I grabbed some cucumbers, zucchini and sweet potatoes from the farmers market this year, so we shall see how that goes. Any other easy plants to grow in containers (I'm a very novice gardener!)? Will the 5 gallon buckets be okay for the 3 plants that I mentioned above? Or would bigger/smaller be better?

Thanks!
Kristin

Westbrook, CT(Zone 6a)

I regularly grow dwarf tomatoes, peppers and herbs in containers, partly to save space, mostly because my soil is poor and rocky. 5gal for tomatoes, smaller (1-3 gal) is ok for the others. Tomatoes, squash and cucumbers are vining plants, so if you grow them in containers you will have to provide a trellis, stake or cage to support them unless you have room to let the vines sprawl along the ground. My non-dwarf indeterminate tomatoes grow about 6 ft tall, so if you add a foot (or more) for the container, their support's height would have to be at least 7 ft. I found this inconvenient to adapt to containers, which is why I'm only containerizing dwarfs nowadays.

I've seen articles on growing potatoes in barrels or straw-filled cages, but have not tried it. You might look those up to see if it would work for sweet potatoes as well.

Oviedo, FL(Zone 9b)

I always grew my veggies in containers for two reasons. 1. the best sun was along the blacktop driveway at my hilltop house. Never understood why my DH wouldn't let me dig the driveway up and put in terraces of raised beds, but there you have it. 2. We had local small mammals, groundhogs, skunks, raccoons, etc., that got to stuff planted in the ground. When I put my containers on small plastic patio end tables, that problem was nearly eliminated.