Shade plants for texas heat?

Bryan, TX(Zone 8b)

For mothers day my DH has created me a shade garden! Now I just have to fill it... and I have no experience with shade plants. I took a trip to home depot and everything says for full sun. Do you guys have any suggestions for what I can plant? I'm looking for perennials with flowers in mainly pastel colors. The area gets morning sun but thats about it.
TIA!

~Cassandra

Magnolia, TX(Zone 9a)

Look into native flowers, tho with spring about gone, summertime even in shade is rough. You could go with herbs as well and make an aromatic area with things like incense bush. A lot of us plant salvias and blooms for the butterflies as hummers and monarchs pass thru on migratory routes- zinnias, rocket larkspur, mexican petunia(can be invasive!)

East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

Most plants that require full sun will do well in your area if they get am sun and afternoon shade. In fact, full sun in tx will welcome a shady break so don't hesitate to plant them in your new shade garden.

Fort Worth, TX(Zone 8a)

Native petunia, East Texas Mistflower, Toad Lilies, Heart Leaf skullcap, Lyre Leaf Sage, Texas Cedar Sage, White Avens, Inland Sea Oats, Oakleaf Hydrangea, and Native violets all do well in the shade. Also, Texas Columbine and the gold columbine like shade.

Columbines are lovely and they do like shade, I put some in sun and they petered out

Fort Worth, TX(Zone 8a)

You have to keep them well watered in the heat of the summer, too.

Bryan, TX(Zone 8b)

Thank all of you for the replies! I'll definitely be adding some of the to my want list, especially the Columbine :)

Midland, TX(Zone 8a)