New balled and burlapped trees

Matthews, NC

Hi all, we recently had 4 balled and burlapped trees planted in our backyard (1 dogwood, 1 yoshino cherry, and 2 weeping cherry). These trees are approximately 10'-12' tall. They were planted the last weekend of March when most of the trees in our area (Charlotte, NC) still hadn't leafed out yet. I have been watering daily, via irrigation twice a week and by hand on days it doesn't rain. I have noticed that the trees still have not fully leafed out yet. The yoshino has dense leafs about 2/3 of the way up the canopy. The dogwood has leafs throughout, but they are very small and not very dense. The weeping cherries are very sparsely leafed. Since I am a newbie to landscaping in general, is this normal for a newly planted tree? What kind of watering schedule should I be following? I've researched online and found varied guidelines. Thanks in advance for your help!

Bedford, VA(Zone 7a)

The first year the trees will be concentrating on establishing good root systems, so you won't see much activity above. The old saying, first year they sleep, second year they creep and third year they leap, is a good rule of thumb.

Since you are seeing leaves, I wouldn't worry, however, make sure the ground is draining well and that the root balls are not in standing water for any length of time, you don't want to drown the trees. If you dig a small hole about an inch down, the soil should be damp, not extremely wet.

Terri

Lititz, PA(Zone 6b)