I bought the book

Coos Bay, OR(Zone 9a)

I bought the book and get the emails. Now I just need to get the bales. That, I am finding, is no easy matter unless you want to break the bank. I plan to place the bales on already raised beds and hope to not have to weed so much. This whole idea looks great.

(Zone 8b)

Welcome beebonnet to straw bale gardening. This is my first year trying it as well. I bought the book before finding this site. Wish I would have found this site first then no need to buy book.

Got 7 of my 10 bales planted today. Maters, pole beans, zucchini, cukes, & some peppers all in the bales. Get the last 3 bales planted tomorrow. Weather has been absolutely beautiful here I. Texas.

Best of luck w/ your straw bale gardening.

Coos Bay, OR(Zone 9a)

Thank you, TX Chris. Wishing you a fabulous straw bale garden this year. We don't start gardening around here until later in the spring. I plant out my tomatoes around May 15. So, still have time to get those bales going. If I can find the bales, that is.

Coos Bay, OR(Zone 9a)

Hi Strawbalers....I now have 10 bales installed, fertilized and watered. Tomorrow it is supposed to rain, so that will help too. These can percolate along until mid to late May. Do you think that will be long enough?

(Zone 8b)

Beebonnet congrats on finding your straw bales & starting the cooking process. I would say they should be primed & ready come mid May to plant. Share some pictures of your set up. Look forward to reading about your success.

My plants have been in the bales eight days & seem to be doing great. Everything is growing & even have two tiny tomatoes on one of my big beef tomato plants. Also, have an inch long pepper growing on one of my dragon cayenne pepper plants. My pole beans & zucchini have all sprouted as well. Exciting to see.