New Hydrangea grower

Copperas Cove, TX(Zone 8a)

I'm fairly new to growing Hydrangeas though we've tried a couple of times by planting them here in the ground and they almost immediately died from the heat though we watered them about every day. This time what I bought one I was determined to keep it alive so I put it in a large clay pot with a large drainage hole and large saucer. It's sitting right inside the door of my greenhouse and not getting any direct sun. I'm checking it daily and watering as necessary, which seems to be every day. Some questions, do I need to fertilize it? If so, what with? What do I do with the blooms after they're done? Do I dead head them? If so, how far down do I cut the old flowers off? If anyone has any suggestions I'd surely appreciate them.

Chris

Thumbnail by chris1948
Hurst, TX(Zone 7b)

Yes, you need to fertlilize it. The minerals on your potting medium will leech out fast due to the frequent waterings and need to be replenished. The best fertilizer for camellias on the ground is plain old composted cow manure but you can also use organic compost, cottonseed meal or any slow-release general purpose chemical fertilizer (a NPK Ratio of 10-10-10 should be fine). Due to its convenience, I would try the 10-10-10 fertilizer. Remember to fertilize almost all year around too.

People leave the blooms out there on the plant. Most times they fall on their own but yesterday I noticed some that were still hanging, by a thread literally. You can deadhead them at any time if you wish as long as you do not cut the stem. Cut the thread that connects the bloom to the stems. Invisible flower buds develop at the very ends of the stems so exercise care when cutting the spent blooms.

Here is an interesting website:
http://hydrangeashydrangeas.com/fertilize.html