Questions on pruning young JM

Camden, AR(Zone 8a)

I am a newbie to JM - well, I have owned some in the past with little luck keeping them alive, but I have tried to research which ones will hold up to my heat better, etc. I have recently purchased two young Crimson Queens and 2 Orangeolas. Both are about 20 -24" tall. I had originally planned to place in the ground, but I have decided at least for now, to just place them in large decorative pots and see if I can get them established and find a location they are happy with. A couple of the young trees - I believe they are both the Crimson queen has some very long branches that are actually growing in a circular motion around the tree. My husband thinks I should "prune" them to the shape I want, but with only 4 or 5 limbs on the little trees at this point, I am not sure what to do.

Can someone offer suggestions?
Thank you!

Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)

pictures always help.

Jacksonville, FL(Zone 9a)

Branches growing "in a circular motion" can be the result of the trees being crowded together in the nursery. The branches will grow every which way trying to find some space. I agree with your husband, it should be shaped but, like wha says, pictures help so the more experienced growers here can suggest just which branches to trim.

Camden, AR(Zone 8a)

OK, I am sure that would help. I looked at it last night and it is leafing out very well. Both Orangeolas have several leafs on them already but my Crimson Queens don't have any. I am headed out of town tonight for a long weekend with my family but I will try to get pictures at the first of next week. That also gives it a little more time to unwind :)

Thanks for the response!
Genna

Powder Springs, GA(Zone 7b)