Strings up or down

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

All the time I have been strawbale gardening I have always been told to put the strings on the ground. I just got a book and it says that the strings should not touch the ground and should be around the outside of the bale standing upright with the open straw ends up. I have been doing this for about 8 years, whats the right way? I am always open to learning new ways.
Mine always worked but I did have problems digging into the bales to plant. The first pic is how they are saying I should plant them and the other two are my bales.

Thumbnail by Gourdbeader Thumbnail by Gourdbeader Thumbnail by Gourdbeader
Pueblo, CO(Zone 5b)

If your book is the one I've got, the author is considered THE expert on strawbale gardening. And his reasons make sense - strings around the outside help it hold its shape while composting. And cut ends up make it compost more efficiently.
This will be my first year trying it because I have some old straw bales I need to get rid of anyway. I was looking at the book and and I think some of my bales are too rotten already.
I know someone who has been using this method for years and has had good results with warm season stuff - but I can't remember how she sat her bales. I do remember it was one long long single skinny row.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

My bales usually last two years and then I compost them. This is my 8th or 9th year doing this and first year with them up like this. Its worth a try.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

I'm going with strings down. Always have and always had good results. why mess with something when there's nothing wrong with it???
Here are my first batch of bales for the season. Going to get more for another area. I have 7 here. Phoebe's standing gruard.

Thumbnail by Gourdbeader Thumbnail by Gourdbeader Thumbnail by Gourdbeader
Wake Forest, NC