New to orchids, need to know what size pot is right to repot

Canton, IL(Zone 5b)

I am new to orchids, and don't plan on getting into them really deeply. But I did get three Phalaenopsis Orchids for Valentine's Day and do want to take care of them correctly.

I found a site about water, light, etc. The site said they should not be grown in clay or ceramic pots because the roots will stick to the sides. They said to use plastic, preferably clear plastic.

I am going to repot them into clear plastic pots, but I need to know what kind of sizing. The current pots are ceramic and about 4 inches wide. Should I stay with the four inch size or would it be good to go to a five inch? I didn't know if going up one size was a "no no".

I have them in east window with filtered light, same as my African Violets. I have a moisture pan coming for them. It is the black plastic, 2-3 inches deep with a plastic mesh covering. So water goes through the mesh, into the pan, and then as it evaporates, that puts humidity into the air around the orchids. (or so the Phalaenopsis Orchid care website says).

Prairieville, LA(Zone 9a)

Hi Sue. As for what type of pot, clay or plastic, that is rather a matter of preference and size of your orchid. You will see that from these links...they all show different pots and all show the same methods for repotting. If your orchids are in bloom, repotting them now will cause the blooms to drop off.

Keep you orchids out of cold or hot drafts, follow the basic care info from your links, and you should have lovely orchids to enjoy for years.

Here is some general info on repotting your orchids.

http://www.aos.org/Default.aspx?id=108

http://www.missouribotanicalgarden.org/gardens-gardening/your-garden/help-for-the-home-gardener/advice-tips-resources/visual-guides/repotting-phalaenopsis-and-other-monopodial-orchid.aspx

http://www.repotme.com/orchid-repotting/Orchid-Repotting-Phalaenopsis.html

Prescott, AZ