Advice Please!

Prescott, AZ

My little phal orchid is very slowly putting out a flower spike! My question is--do I continue weekly/weakly feeding the bloom food while the flowers are developing, or back off and just let it do its thing? Thanks!

Bradenton Beach, FL(Zone 10a)

I would continue the weekly/weakly...I'm guessing it needs that nutrition to continue forming its flowers...but wait to read other people's responses because I'm not an expert by ANY means!

Starkville, MS(Zone 8a)

Once your Phal. begins to form that inflorescence, there is no need to use "bloom" fertilizer. I typically will either discontinue fertilizer or more likely will switch to a vegetative fertilizer, something like 20-20-20. Like you, I fertilize my orchids weakly-weekly and use water twice between every fertilizing. Will it hurt to continue that "blooming" fertilizer? Probably not.

Ken

Prescott, AZ

OK, thanks for the advice. The inflorescence (that's the correct name for a flower spike?) is developing so slowly that I think I'll continue the bloom food until flowers actually open. As I recall, it puts out new leaves after blooming, so will start the higher nitrogen food then, try to work a re-pot in between the flowers and the leaves. My house is a little on the cool side, (58 degrees at night, 64 during the day) which may be contributing to the slow development. How long do yours take to go from first spike to actual flower? Just having this little guy still alive is amazing to me, I'm thrilled to be getting a flower again!

Starkville, MS(Zone 8a)

Yes, inflorescence is the "proper" term, but I still say "stem" or "spike" more often than not.