Is my Mexican Fence Post dieing

Litchfield Park , AZ(Zone 9b)

I had the backyard of my new house landscaped in February of 2013, but we did not move into it until the past July. When we got here most of the landscaped looked good and survived, but just in the last couple of weeks I noticed that the smallest part of the Mexican Fence Post is looking poorly. (see pictures)
The yard is on a drip that runs daily for 30 minutes. I am concerned that it is rotting but It is not soft. Does anyone know if it is dieing? Is it the whole plant or just the small part? How should I handle this?
We moved here from Wisconsin so I am a novice with desert plants.
Thanks for any help.
Dee

Thumbnail by dmwade Thumbnail by dmwade
Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9a)

I think your watering schedule is not the best for cactus. I believe your cactus may be rotting from too much water. Cactus usually don't need that much water. Once a week seems more than enough for good growth. They will get along with almost no water once established.

Chandler, AZ(Zone 9b)

I say cut away the smallest column ASAP. Check to see if there is any rot at the base, and if not, just let it callous...then pray.

I've seen Mexican Fence Posts recover nicely when only one column goes bad.

Mesa, AZ(Zone 9b)

I agree with Judyb and Minime, especially since this year's monsoon was so wet compared to 2013 and to me at least it seems it got colder at night sooner this year compared to last year when we did not really have much of winter at all. So the watering regime might not have been so bad as to cause any problems before. However, this year could easily be a different story.
I have not watered my yard since September, plants in pots I did water because pots dry out so quickly, but I know the soil in my garden is still pretty moist not that far from the surface since I have been digging holes to plant a lot of new plants in space opened up by the flowering of some Agaves.