rooting brugs

Center, TX

I just cut my brugs and want to root some new ones. How do you do this to keep the cuttings from rotting? Should I let them callus over before using, or use rooting hormone? I need all the advise I can get. Thanks in advance. Alda

(Linda Kay) Amarill, TX(Zone 7a)

Place them in water for a few days to maybe a week. Keeping the water fresh. When the cuttings have little white nubs on the bark, it is time to put in small pots till next spring.

Sometimes, no matter what you do, one or two cuttings will rot.

Long Beach, CA

I agree. Also some brugs don't root well in water, but most do. What is the name of your brug?
Rhapsody

Baltimore, MD(Zone 7a)

When i was a Newbie growing Brugs--I followed anyone's advice.
Back then--most people were rooting theim in water. I even bought all the
stuff to do it with the "Bubbler method". They still rotted.

I root all my cuttings straight in soil Mix. Been doing this for years.
I cut them from woody stems--avove a "Y". NEVER from green tops.
I make the cuttings about 4"-6" long--minding the nodes above and below
as they are points of new growth.
I dust the bottom parts with rooting Hormone and put them in 5" pots
all the way down to the bottom. Make the hole first!

I have to cut my Brugs back by end of October as they have to be taken
inside to spend the winter in my cool, dark Shop.

In about 2-3 weeks--they all pass the tug test.

1--here is a bunch rooting from Dec, 2008
2--And here are a bunch from Dec. 2011.

Pretty good growths in just 2 months!

Thumbnail by Gitagal Thumbnail by Gitagal
Long Beach, CA

I just can't get them going in soil. For what ever reason they hollow out. Some kind of bug eats them. Water is a safer them for me... no bugs in the water. LOL

I too tried the bubblier thing. My cuttings rotted too. Even when I charge the water twice a day.

Rhapsody

This message was edited Feb 9, 2015 5:53 AM

Cedar Key, FL(Zone 9a)