Cut off peonies?

(Susan) Xenia, OH(Zone 6a)

Today with fabulous helper Richard I cleared up the weeds and debris in the patio area, which brings me to the last week of this 3-wk visit to our eventual retirement home. I have done every garden-prep task I had set myself for this trip but one last thing is bugging me-- shouldn't I cut the peony down? (Total newbie here.)

What should I be seeing on it that tells me it's time to cut it and set the cage it should have had this year, to catch it next year?

Will I get viable cuttings to take home to spawn another few to plant? Is 3 weeks ling enough to start em in the ground (spring???), or should I plan for a babysitter

And.... what timeframe might I shoot for, to actually be here to enjoy it in bloom? I missed it this first year of having this house.

Thanks for any help.

~Susan

Franklin, OH(Zone 6a)

Susan, I'm sorry I didn't see this until just now. You're probably gone.

Here is a site that seems to answer most of your questions!

http://www.almanac.com/plant/peonies

I did cut them and am now learning abt powdery mildew.... sure that's what I saw. Does that recur if I move the plant to a less chronically-damp (sunnier) spot?

Franklin, OH(Zone 6a)

Not as much. It helps if there's good air circulation around them.

Yay! Planning to divide with moving them. Thanks!

Franklin, OH(Zone 6a)

You're quite welcome!

Joyce, I came back from Xenia sick and never did get the peony cage up before I left.

My plan is to READ gardening when in PA (where I am now) and DO gardening when I'm in Ohio. As I get back on my feet, the link u gave above will def be prep-reading.

We are due back in Ohio for a quick trip the first wk of Feb. About all we can do for the garden then is:

1. Get and place a cage in case I don't get back for the spring trip in time to catch the peony. It was already slated for a new spot in the sun nearby, and whenever I can I will move it.