help tomato wilt

Kansas City (Joyce), MO(Zone 5a)

I have a raised bed I would like to put daylilies in but I have just pulled tomato plants out of there that had tomato wilt. Will tomato wilt hurt the daylilies.

I would also like to put iris in there does any one know if the tomato wilt hurt the iris?

Hazel Crest, IL(Zone 5a)

Happygarden, just amend the soil and the daylilies will be fine. I am no Iris expert, You didn't say what type. But as long as you plant them to the recommended depth I think that they should be fine also. Blomma hybridizes Irises. D-Mail her directly and she will glady respond. Mike

Thanks Mike, I researched and researched because I sure don't want to hurt my daylilies. I know some virus and dieases are transferable. daylilies.org didn't list wilt as a problem.

Thanks with the help on the iris.

Hazel Crest, IL(Zone 5a)

Happygarden you are welcome. We want your garden to stay happy. LOL! Mike

Gardens not happ this year. lol I have had every disease and pests known to humanity this year...lol First time ever I took the raised bed, mixed in compost, put in posts and cattle panels, planted tomatoes, tied the up, removed suckers, you name it and what happens tomato wilt....really! Then it just kept going... Oh well always next year. right?

Hazel Crest, IL(Zone 5a)

Happygarden, we gardeners live for "NEXT YEAR"!! LOL!!
Experts say that tomatoes should not be planted in the same location the following season. Hopefully the upcoming deep freeze will kill some of the nuisances in the garden and give you a clean slate for next spring. Mike

I figure I won't plant tomatoes there for a couple of years just to be safe. I had thought about using that bed for flowers for a while since I am not gardening in them.
Yeap we sure look to the futures... otherwise I would NOT garden at all...lol

Hamilton, OH(Zone 6a)