Coleus seedlings

Lakeview, OH

Could someone please tell me when I can expect some color in the leaves? They don't have their true leaves yet does anyone know how long that will take? Here are the plants, they are doing well under the flurescent lamp, I would put them in the window but I don't want to burn them. I read somewhere that you should not add any fertilize them until they get their second set of true leave, is that right? Just asking, I am new to growing Coleus and have many questions about them.

Thumbnail by emptyeyes
Contra Costa County, CA(Zone 9b)

What a beautiful bunch of seedlings!

True leaves will start to color up, and the more light they are in the richer the colors, up to a point. In hot summer weather they do better in bright shade or morning sun. A bright window is a good idea.

I would start separating them soon rather than wait much longer. When there is a large enough true leaf for you to handle it that way, separate them.

Lakeview, OH

Thanks Diana, like I said I have never grew these before so any advice would help out. I love my flowers and my three places that I have morning glories at, they all have bloomed and still are doing a great job, I have had people tell me you can't grow and bloom morning glories indoors and also moonflowers, well, I have the pictures to prove them wrong, and also I am very happy, my moonflower vine has 3 moonflower buds and if they bloom my feet won't touch the ground for a week! This is what I grew in the picture window.

Thumbnail by emptyeyes

Nice! What a rich color!

Lakeview, OH