Color Change

Oklahoma City, OK(Zone 7a)

I bought a purple leaf filbert "Rosita" last year specifically for the purple leaves. Although the leaves emerge purple, they quickly change to green. Is that normal, or is it because it is getting too much sun?

I also bought a Forest Pansy redbud for the same reason. It, too, is not holding the purple color. Is that normal?

I just tried to take pictures, but there were too many shadows to see the colors. I'll post them later after I can get better shots.

Saint Louis, MO(Zone 6a)

Many purple-foliaged plants are most brightly colored w/ fresh spring growth and fade to purplish green or completely green with the warmth of the summer. For me, Forest Pansy has pretty much turned green by now, but it's still a deeper/duskier color than the species. I have no experience w/ Rosita. Most purple foliaged plants retain best coloration in full sun.

Thanks, Weerobin. As soon as I posted this, I realized that I should have checked Plant Files. I'm just so impressed with the expertise on these forums that I don't even think about going anywhere but to the experts for my questions. You're right. Both do turn green after the new leaves have emerged. I'm disappointed, especially about the filbert, because I specifically bought them for their purple leaves. I don't mind so much about the redbud because I still like it, and the color change doesn't affect my color scheme so much where I put it. I'll probably move the filbert because I don't like the color or the size where it is now, but I think I've already found another place for it.