Kassandra in full sun?

Stroudsburg, PA(Zone 6a)

Has anyone tried to grow Kassandra in full sun? I have the opposite problem as most people - my gardens are almost entirely in the sun. A friend gave me a birdbath that is a wonderful match to Kassandra and I want to put them beside each other. I have had no problems with any other Heuchera in the sun but I've never tried one this color before. I know I'm going to give it a try but I'd feel better if someone else had been successful.

Thumbnail by rteets
Athens, PA

Looks like Kassandra likes part shade or full shade. http://www.perennials.com/plants/heuchera-kassandra.html

Do you have any trees that you could plant your heuchera under? I didn't have alot of shade in my gardens either, but made use of under trees, lilacs and shrubs. My heuchera are planted with japanese ferns, epimedium, hostas and brunnera under the trees and shrubs and seem to be doing well.

Thumbnail by Carolyn22 Thumbnail by Carolyn22
Stroudsburg, PA(Zone 6a)

It's not that I don't have trees. It's that I want to plant this one by the birdbath. I have Crimson Curls, Obsidian, Sashay, Berry Smoothie, Palace Purple, Marvelous Marbles, Stainless Steele, Dark Chocolate, Lemon Chiffon, Purple Petticoats, and a couple I don't remember the name of - all in sun. I guess I shouldn't worry. Obviously they will do fine. Thanks for taking the time to answer.

Stroudsburg, PA(Zone 6a)

By the way, your garden is beautiful!

Athens, PA

Thank you. Good luck to you. Post later and let us know - I am curious as to how Kassandra will perform in full sun.

Litchfield, NH(Zone 5b)

Rtreet and Carolyn,

I grew Kassandra in full sun. It was about 40' off the front/west/so-west side of my house, so it got early morning shade, but then by late AM it was in sun, and pretty much stayed in sun the rest of the day. I am in zn 5b. She was on the front edge of a bed that bordered my driveway and lawn, and was irrigated with the lawn sprinklers.